Trevor Paolone writes about Normandy and Paris

We opened up the day with a longer bus ride to the beaches at Normandy. One of my favorite parts was the museum at Utah Beach that detailed the soldiers one both sides. I appreciated that they displayed the German soldiers as part of the exhibit as it is a part of the history of the Second World War and deserves to be documented. Another part of this day that was special was Pointe Du Hoc. This was a beautiful location on the side of a cliff that was the site of a German defensive. I personally loved exploring the different bunkers and seeing what huge craters the allied navy had made. I feel as though the French forces are often overlooked as they played their role in the World Wars. We visited the French museum Hotel De Invalides in Paris the following day. I loved how the museum took us through the changes in the French military over time and their involvement in wars.

Leave a comment